Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Six Members


February 8, 2023

EAST LANSING, Michigan – Six outstanding journalists will be inducted into the 2023 class of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees have made major, sustained contributions in Michigan journalism. They are:

Journalist and professor Dr. Lucinda D. Davenport

Lansing community broadcast journalist Sheri Jones

Trailblazing journalist Luise Ruth Mahon Leismer

Multimedia entertainment journalist Jim McFarlin

Editor, recruiter and professor Walter T. Middlebrook

Longtime Detroit Free Press journalist Patricia Montemurri

The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame was established to recognize those who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and who have elevated journalism in Michigan. Induction memorializes extraordinary and clearly outstanding careers.

The 2023 Hall of Fame class will be honored at a banquet on April 23, 2023, at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing. Details about reservations and opportunities for tax-deductible sponsorships and ads will be forthcoming. Details will be provided on the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame website: https://mijournalismhalloffame.org/. Questions may be directed to Betsy DeSantis at 517-353-6431 or email at desant39@msu.edu .

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Michigan chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association; the Detroit chapter of the Association for Women in Communications; Central Michigan University’s Department of Journalism; the Detroit chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; the Detroit and Mid-Michigan chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists; the Detroit Press Club; Wayne State University’s Journalism Program; the Michigan Association of Broadcasters; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University. MSU’s School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which became dormant in 1968. It was established by the Michigan Press Association and the MSU School of Journalism in 1952.

Leave a Comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.