The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame recognizes reporters, editors, publishers, owners, photographers, broadcasters, educators, and others who have made outstanding contributions to the profession. The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame was established to recognize those who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and who have inspired others to improve the quality of the profession.

It acknowledges the service and dedication of individuals whose distinguished contributions to the profession in their communities, regions or the state have earned them a place in the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame. Induction memorializes extraordinary and clearly outstanding careers. From its beginnings in 1952 by the Newspaper Hall of Fame, the Journalism Hall of Fame has continued the tradition of honoring journalists since 1985.

Five outstanding journalists will be inducted into the 2022 class of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees have made major, sustained contributions in print, broadcast and online media to news, sports, business, automotive and cultural journalism. They are:

Robert Ankeny, dogged reporter on Jimmy Hoffa, Orville Hubbard and Kwame Kilpatrick

Greg Dorsett, from Muskegon he elevated the power of photojournalists to tell stories

Marguerite Gahagan, trailblazing Detroit journalist who opened doors for many women

Tim Kiska, newspaperman, author, professor, historian and podcaster

Beth Konrad, Detroit TV and radio journalist and news director; professor and FOIA champion

The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame committee induction ceremony will take place at the Kellogg Hotel & Conference Center on April 24th.

Congratulations to the 2021 inductees:

  • Al Allen
  • Joanne C. Gerstner
  • Tom Henderson
  • Jean Jennings
  • Edward Lapham
  • Marjorie Sorge
  • Susan Whitall

Platinum sponsor

  • Delta Dental

Silver sponsor

  • Wayne State University

Charter Co-sponsors

  • Professional Advisory Council of the Michigan State University School of Journalism
  • School of Journalism, Michigan State University


  • Asian American Journalists Association
  • The Association of Women in Communications
  • Detroit Press Club
  • Department of Journalism, Central Michigan University
  • Detroit Chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists
  • Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists
  • Michigan Press Photographers Association
  • Department of Communications, Wayne State University
  • Michigan Association of Broadcasters
  • Michigan Interscholastic Press Association
  • Michigan Press Association Foundation
  • Mid-Michigan Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists

If your non-profit journalism organization is interested in being a sponsor,
please call the School of Journalism, MSU 517.353.6430.