Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame to Induct Six Members


February 9, 2024

EAST LANSING, Michigan — Six outstanding journalists will be inducted into the 2024 class of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame.

This year’s inductees have made significant, sustained contributions to journalism in Michigan. They are:

Molly Abraham: Detroit News & Detroit Free Press restaurant reviewer, she set the table for Detroit dining

John Bebow: Investigative reporter launched the Center for Michigan and Bridge Michigan

Carolyn Clifford: WXYZ-TV journalist and anchor, this Detroiter has won 22 Emmys

Eric Freedman: Detroit News Pulitzer winner; directs MSU Knight Center for Environmental Journalism

Jeff Gilbert: Only radio journalist in the United States to cover the auto industry full-time

Larry Lee: Built Gongwer News Service into the authority on Michigan government

The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame was established to recognize those who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and who have elevated Michigan journalism. Induction memorializes extraordinary and clearly outstanding careers.

The 2024 Hall of Fame class will be honored at a banquet on April 14, 2024, at the Kellogg Center in East Lansing. Details about registrations and opportunities for tax-deductible sponsorships and ads are available on the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame website: https://mijournalismhalloffame.org . Questions may be directed to Betsy DeSantis at 517-353- 6431 or email at desant39@msu.edu .

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Michigan chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association; the Detroit chapter of the Association for Women in Communications; Central Michigan University’s Department of Journalism; the Detroit chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; the Detroit and Mid-Michigan chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists; the Detroit Press Club; Wayne State University’s Journalism Program; the Michigan Association of Broadcasters; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University. MSU’s School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which became dormant in 1968. The Michigan Press Association and the MSU School of Journalism established the original Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame in 1952.

Leave a Comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.