Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame to induct 2018 members

EAST LANSING, Mich. — Four new members will be inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame on April 15, 2018, at the Kellogg Hotel and Conference Center at Michigan State University.

The 2018 inductees are columnist Susan Ager, automotive journalist John McElroy, radio news director Jerome Vaughn and educator Jim Wojcik.

The Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame was established to recognize those who advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and had a positive impact on journalism in Michigan.  Induction memorializes extraordinary and clearly outstanding careers.

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Michigan Chapter, Asian American Journalists Association; Department of Journalism, Central Michigan University; Detroit Chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; Detroit Press Club; Individual Communicators Network; Journalism Program, Wayne State University; Michigan Association of Broadcasters; Michigan Interscholastic Press Association; Mid-Michigan Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; Michigan Press Association Foundation; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University.

MSU’s School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which became dormant in 1968. The Michigan Press Association and the MSU School of Journalism established the original Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame in 1952.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2018 will be honored at the 33rdannual induction banquet on April 15, beginning with a 5 p.m. reception. Dinner and the induction ceremony will follow at 6 p.m. The deadline for early reservations is April 1, 2018. Detroit Free Press Editor and Vice President Peter Bhatia will MC the event, following an introduction by MSU School of Journalism Director and Hall of Fame Chair Lucinda Davenport. The Wade H. McCree Awards, hosted by the Michigan Press Association Foundation, will precede the inductions.

For tax-deductible sponsorship opportunities and to purchase ads in the Hall of Fame dinner program, please contact Kareen Lubas at (517) 353-6431 or email lubaskar@msu.edu

For reservations to the induction banquet and for more information, please see the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame website.

Leave a Comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.