2014 inductions in to the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame

EAST LANSING, MI –New members will be inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame and a Special Recognition Award given on April 13 at the James B. Henry Center for Executive Development at Michigan State University.
Inductees are journalism innovator Bill McGraw; journalist and educator Charles Eisendrath; business reporter Jennifer Moore; investigative reporter Ken Kolker; broadcast journalist Cheryl Chodun; prep sports reporter Mick McCabe; and reporter and educator William Serrin. The Michigan Hall of Fame Committee will also give a Special Recognition Award to association executive Edward Deeb for his sustained contributions to Michigan journalism.

Since 1985, the Hall of Fame has distinguished journalists who have advanced the legacy of a free and responsible press and who have influenced Michigan journalism. The Special Recognition Award distinguishes individuals who have made sustained and significant contributions and are held in high esteem for their role and support of journalism in Michigan.

The Hall of Fame Class of 2014 will be honored at the Hall of Fame banquet on April 13, beginning with a 5 p.m. reception. Dinner and the induction ceremony will follow at 6 p.m. The deadline for early reservations is March 30.

For tax-deductible sponsorship opportunities and to purchase ads in the banquet program, as well as for additional information, please contact Nicole Walworth at 517-353-6430 or email walwor17@msu.edu.

Co-sponsors of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame are the Asian American Journalism Association; Department of Journalism, Central Michigan University; Detroit Chapter of the National Association of Black Journalists; Detroit Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; the Detroit Press Club; Individual Communicators Network; Journalism Program, Wayne State University; Michigan Association of Broadcasters; Michigan Interscholastic Press Association; Mid-Michigan Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists; and the School of Journalism, Michigan State University.

The MSU School of Journalism has been the home of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame since 1985, reprising the Michigan Newspaper Hall of Fame, which had been dormant since 1968.

Information about the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame can be found online

Leave a Comment

Filed under News

Comments are closed.