Special Awards- Historic

Special Service Award

The Hall of Fame committee also recognizes individuals who have made sustained and significant contributions in support of Michigan journalism. The deadline for the Special Service Award is the same as nominations to the Hall of Fame. Nominators may use the Hall of Fame nomination form but should clearly indicate that the nomination is for the Special Service Award.

Jim Adams, sports broadcaster, WKAR (1998)

Virginia Baird, charter member, Michigan Press Women (1995)

Don Gardner, reporter, The Detroit Times (2004)

Charles A. Hughes, publisher, DAC News (2008)

Fred Stabley Sr., sports information director, MSU (1994)

Elmer White, executive secretary, Michigan Press Association (1994)

Martha Rayne Award for Media History Research

This award intends to encourage research into the history of Michigan media. A $500 prize will be presented to the winner at the annual induction banquet. For details and deadlines, contact the chair of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame committee.

Robin Blom, (2011)

Sue Carter, “Women Don’t Do News: Fran Harris and Detroit Radio Station WWJ” (2000)

Willah Weddon, Michigan Press Women, Today and Yesterday” (1999)

Marilyn Stenberg, “Jessie Morgan Stoughton: The Patriot’s Housewife” (1999)

The 1st Amendment Watchdog Award

This award will be given, on occasion, at the discretion of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame Committee, to recognize excellence in investigative journalism that occurred in the preceding year. The intent is to acknowledge and encourage the watchdog role of journalists and news organizations in the very best traditions of the 1st Amendment of the U.S. Constitution.

M.L. Elrick, investigative reporter, Detroit Free Press, (2009)

Jim Schaefer, investigative reporter, Detroit Free Press, (2009)